Districts utilizing Clever, DnA, or One Roster as their FastBridge rostering solution should update enrollment data within the respective platform and wait for an overnight sync to occur to view the updates within FastBridge.
In FastBridge, the student roster is the list of all students CURRENTLY enrolled in your district, and their assigned teachers and classrooms.
There are three ways* to maintain a roster:
- Automated Batch Import is a regularly scheduled export from your Student Information System (SIS) that automatically gets imported into FastBridge. For more information on setting up an automated batch import, see Setting Up Automated Batch Imports.
- Roster upload must be completed at the beginning of the academic year when new schools are added, or any time a large number of changes needs to be made to the roster. For more information on roster upload, see Uploading a Student Roster.
- Manual editing The student roster is recommended when only a small number of changes need to be made such as when a new student needs to be added to the roster. for more information on editing the roster, see Manually Editing the Roster.
Note: Master Account Administrators and District Managers can upload a roster. District Managers and School Managers can manually edit a roster if you are not using an automated roster process.
The roster establishes how students are viewed and grouped in FastBridge. Students are grouped into classrooms based on who their teachers are. FastBridge will NOT accept a student without a minimum of one teacher assignment. Teachers (classroom users) who don't have any students will only be able to access the training modules and certain common resources in FastBridge, and cannot access assessments or reports.
Note: This applies to Classroom User accounts only. Other staff members such as Specialists and Group proctors access students through the Teacher view.
When a Student has been added to a roster, their data is retained indefinitely. In FastBridge, deleting a student from the roster does not delete the student or their data, it only removes the student from the current online roster. In other words, you can no longer view that student linked to a teacher. Only students on the current roster from the system will display in reports and be able to take tests.
Note: Students who have been removed from the roster are still included in raw data reports such as the Data Download report. For more information on this report, see Data Download.